IT’S NOT WHERE YOU START IT’S WHERE YOU FINISH!

Elaine Everest chats about promoting oneself and how it’s an important part of a writer’s life.

We’ve started writing our books but what comes next? We need to get our name ‘out there’ and we need readers to know about our books. We need sales and we need to earn a living from our writing. Sales mean we rise in the book rankings. The higher we go the more we are known. The more we are known the more books we sell.

The song, ‘It’s not where you start, It’s where you finish’, says we finish on top – but how do we get there?

I was a shy little thing when I first started writing. If I’d been told I would need to speak on radio and stand up in front of a room full of people and chat about writing I’d have given up then. Fortunately I didn’t and today I enjoy speaking about my books and meeting my readers.

My first venture into the world of books was when I was invited to submit some of my short stories to the Sexy Shorts charity anthologies. These popular books from the publisher, Accent Press, were well promoted and like others I had to play my part in talking about these lovely books and the worthwhile charities. I bit the bullet and I did it!

When my first book, Showing Your Dog, A Beginner’s Guide (How To Books Ltd), was published it was expected that the author played her part in promoting the book. I took a big gulp and dived in. The hardest part was standing up in a very large crowd of experienced dog show folk. I shouldn’t have worried as there was so much support from the show fraternity. To this day my book is used to help newcomers to join a fabulous sport.

Showing Your DogCanine CuisineA New Puppy in the Family

This is the first year I will not be doing book signings on trade stands at Crufts  as I’m competing with my Polish Lowland Sheepdog, Henry, and will be ring side cheering on fellow competitors as well as my friend, Rachel, who will be handling Henry – and a good job she does too. I will have books in my show bag – an author never stops being a sales person!

By the time my second dog book, Canine Cuisine, came along I was being called upon to speak on local and national radio when a dog topic cropped up in the news. I’ve learned that it’s best to just be myself and speak from the heart. When the third book, A New Puppy in the Family, was published I was writing a weekly column for a canine newspaper. Not only did I get to speak on behalf of fellow dog folk but my name (and my books) were ‘out there’ for readers to see – and buy. Every time I supplied a quote or spoke on radio I asked for my books to be mentioned. A veteran author once told me that we should never stop promoting ourselves or our books.

gracieswar

When my first novel, Gracie’s War (Pulse Romance), was published I felt confident to contact radio stations, newsapers and libraries and offer to talk about my latest project. I’d served my apprenticeship on those early charity anthologies.

My advice to any new writer would to be to get yourself out there and promote your work in any way you can. These days we have Twitter, Facebook, websites and blogs so even more chance of getting your face (and work) known. It’s all part of the job

51NNYNB8M9L._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU02_AA160_51%2B6wAAvPCL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU02_AA160_51jR2zg1soL._AA160_21W31BGM9QL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU02_AA160_

I wouldn’t say that I’m at ‘the top’ by a long chalk but by learning my craft and doing my best – and not being afraid – I like to think I’ve started that long  climb to the top!

13 thoughts on “IT’S NOT WHERE YOU START IT’S WHERE YOU FINISH!

  1. I’ve done a lot of talks in my time, but it’s much scarier when you’re trying to promote yourself. I remember that time you and I spoke on Radio Kent and Radio Manchester, Elaine (the latter from that tiny cupboard at Radio Kent!), to promote Diamonds and Pearls. I was scared stiff, but Pat Marsh was lovely and put us at our ease.

    • That cupboard will stay in my memory for a long time, Francesca – not quite Philip Schofield and his broom cupboard! Pat Marsh is such a lovely man – and so encouraging to his guests. I have a lot to thank him for with my writing career.

  2. It is quite scary starting out and not having a ready made audience but, you’re right Elaine, we all have to start somewhere and hopefully not only will our readers increase but our writing improves too!

  3. You’ve certainly served a comprehensive apprenticeship, Elaine. Speaking in public can be terrifying, particularly the first time, but it gets easier every time. I am now fairly (well almost) at ease when addressing a room full of people. However, I have yet to master ‘selling myself’. Ask me to appeal on behalf of a charity or give a presentation – no probem. Promoting myself, well that’s another ball game entirely and one I look forward to with reserved enthusiasm coupled with grim determination. Your own experiences must encourage others and your comment ‘It’s all part of the job’ helps put it in perspective.

  4. Reblogged this on Safkhet Publishing and commented:
    I feel I really need to reblog this! How very true! To quote a friend from Cambridge University Press: “If you are an author who wants to sit in his/her basement and write all day, you’ve picked the wrong profession!”
    What I am trying to say here is: of course we’re here for our authors and of course we pave their way towards their audience and the media. But if they don’t want to walk down it, what else can we do?

  5. This piece is very true and I do agree with Natalie, I can stand up and do presentations and have no problem talking about anything other than myself. It’s hard to believe that anyone is interested but I’m getting better at it. I’m on Twitter and Facebook and realise the importance of being known, as you say Elaine, if you don’t market yourself and your novel how does your audience know you’re there. I remember shaking from head to toe the first time I did read back in class but I didn’t die from it so it obviously isn’t as scary as we think!

Leave a Reply

