I Believe, I Really Do Believe…

What Elaine Roberts discovered this week is that you have to believe in yourself.

Yes, it is lovely when people give you a boost by saying how wonderful your writing is, or anything else that you are doing if it comes to that.

Francesca & I at an RNA Party

Francesca & I at an RNA Party

My dream, since time began, has been to write novels and anyone who reads this blog regularly will know I am a member of the Romantic Novelists Association New Writers Scheme (RNA NWS). My biggest problem is that it doesn’t take much to dent my confidence or for me to feel I’m being selfish, dedicating as much of my spare time, (did I say spare time?) as I can to my writing. Yes, I am improving but whether I will get there or not, hmm I’m not so sure. There are a whole lot of writers out there all fighting for the same publishing/agent places, but as they say, you have to be in it to win it.

My Daughter Made Me A Cake Of My Modern Romance "Forgotten Love" As Yet Unpublished

My Daughter Made A Cake Of My  Romantic Novel “Forgotten Love” – As Yet Unpublished

I have reached chapter ten of the saga I am writing. That’s probably about mid point, around forty eight thousand words. It has been a steep learning curve for me because prior to this, I wrote modern contemporary romance, which is a very different kettle of fish. A saga tends to be longer than the average modern romance, at least that is what I have been told, approximately an extra thirty thousand words. Consequently, I’ve had to think more about my characters; there are three generations to consider. There’s the plot and the sub plots, are they interwoven enough. Then there is the setting and how to bring that alive? Use more description, which has always been a little alien to me.

When we live in a world of speed and shortened speech, for example text speak, it has taken me a while to get my head around it all, but I am getting there and what’s more, I believe I am getting there quicker. Please note I didn’t say better because I’m still in my first draft and I have no doubt there will be several edits to come.

I Do Believe...

I Do Believe…

I don’t mind that because at the RNA Conference a couple of weeks ago, Julie Cohen gave me and all the other writers there permission to write a rubbish (that’s not the word she used, but I’m sure you get my drift) first draft. She said it’s more important to get the story written and worry about making it book shape later. This boosted my confidence because I discovered I’m not the only one to write in layers. Until then, I thought I was a little strange, and before you all start shouting that I am, I mean in the way that I write.

This leads me right back to the beginning. Mix with other like-minded people who can help with any learning, but above all else, and no matter what, believe in yourself.

@RobertsElaine11

 

 

10 thoughts on “I Believe, I Really Do Believe…

  1. A really honest blog that makes us understand exactly how you feel. It’s good to know as well, isn’t it, that you’re not alone, that other people are as strange as you are (me for one) and that with perseverance and dedication…which you have in shed loads…it’s just a matter of time before you reach your goal. Good luck with the next forty thousand words

    • Thanks Natalie for your kind thoughts, it is always appreciated. We always think it’s just about getting those words down on paper but that is for from the truth, in fact that is just the beginning.

  2. Thank you Judith for reblogging, we all need all the encouragement we can get. I’m glad you found it interesting. I will have a look at your site.

    • Haha Wendy, I don’t think you are on your own there. The trouble is I don’t think you ever manage to get it perfect, especially as the story evolves as you write it, at least mine does. Just remember with your first novel time is on your side. Good luck with it. Elaine R x

  3. A really interesting blog, Elaine. I like the way in which you discuss the writing process, and how you have evolved your own technique. It is important for writers to analyse their methods, judging what works and what doesn’t. It is good to listen to the advice and experience of others, but, ultimately, writers know instinctively what works for them.

  4. I think you are right Angela. There are obviously rules to follow when writing but how you write it does seem to differ from person to person. I do think you only realise that by talking and listening to others in the same situation. Elaine R x

  5. You are doing everything correctly, Elaine. Not only that you take notice of advice and your writing is all the better for it. Writing isnt so much about being creative as suppling what publishers want and wjat agents are interested in. You are almost there. Writers are only ever alone once they sit at the keyboard and start to tap in those words that have been swirling around in their heads. Just don’t listen to those who can dent your confidence – every writer hears them occassionally however far up the ladder of success they have climbed. It will only be a matter of time before those words are not only written but in the right order – to quote a couple of well known funny men!

    • Thank you Elaine. If it was only down to effort and hard work I’m sure I’d be there but, as we know, it’s all a learning curve and that’s something I don’t stop doing, learning. I’m sure I would be where I am without your support and other members of The Write Place. It’s appreciated. Elaine R

Leave a Reply

